Copy of Copy of Copy of Transient

about us

est. 2001, 501c3, new york city

Esse Aficionado was formed under the premise that dance is a collaborative and experimental process. Its three founding members, Gina Graham, Veronica De La Rosa and Maki Morinoue choreographed dances and produced shows in New York City and Seattle for well over a decade. The artistic vision of the company is now led by Graham, a choreographer and collagist residing in New York City and De La Rosa, in Los Angeles. Morinoue has moved on from the company and remains a close friend and EA advisor. The work of Esse Aficionado features collaborations from artists across multiple disciplines with the purpose of creating works of thought‐provoking dance art.



Graham's work has been presented by Movement Research at Judson Church, Dixon Place, Green Space, DUMBO Dance Festival, inception to exhibition (ITE) Festival, and Velocity Dance Center’s  Next Festival  in Seattle. Her co-choreographed works have premiered in Seattle at the Northwest New Works Festival, On the Boards Festival and MiKiJio Arts. Graham graduated with a BFA in Dance Composition from Purchase Conservatory. She also explores new concepts and ideas through her collage work, which has been exhibited in New York City and Seattle.



Veronica is a graduate of Purchase College Conservatory of Dance with a BFA in Dance and a Certificate in Arts Management. Upon graduating, Veronica moved to New York City, studied at Merce Cunningham Studio as a scholarship student and co‐founded Esse Aficionado. As Founding Director, De La Rosa spearheads every aspect of EA’s productions and is Treasurer of the Board of Directors. Throughout her versatile dance career, Veronica has performed in various dance companies, musicals and sideshows. The Los Angeles native attended the Los Angeles County High School for the Arts and was a member of Kitetails, a company led by her mentor, post‐modern pioneer, Rudy Perez.



Maki Morinoue: Founding Member & Collaborator

Jason Bernagozzi: Video Media Artist

Andrea Stein: Web / Software Developer 

Kurt Ralske: Video Media Artist

Michael Schiller: Filmmaker

Jon Fine: Filmmaker

Ben Fine: Filmmaker

Bill Racine: Music Producer and Engineer

Gene Park: Composer

Scott Masoner: Sound Design

Jasmine Gonzales: Costume Designer

Michael Schneider: Interaction Designer and interactive systems specialist in emerging technology

Kerstin Gilg: Interactive Web and Video Designer 

Erin Gann: Actor

Dave Miko: Visual Artist 

Jesse Perez: Actor 

John Convertino: Musician

William Haugh: Musician

Aaron Diskin: Musician 

Nick Seligson-Ross: Lighting Designer

Eric Liu: Stage Manager

Janelle Barry (2011 to 2013)

Monica Gonzalez (2013)

Ayaka Habata (2013)

Cydnee Yamamoto (2001 to 2007)

Elizabeth Pardue (2001 to 2007)

Nicole Wegweiser (2001 to 2007)

Lauren Thorpe (2001 to 2004)

Michelle Jongeneel (2006)

Catherine Acquaviva (2006)

Ruri Saito (2007)

Annette Herwander (2007)

Allyson Woods (2007)

Shawna Emerick (2007)

Julia Kobceva (2007)

CJ Holm (2007)

Yuli Hsu (2007)

Hallie Dalsimer (2007)

Sego Marchand (2007)

Tara Glazer (2007)

Hanna Satterlee (2007)

Meredith Mandel (2007)


Kate Rast (2007)

Lindy Schmedt (2007)

Kathryn Duyn (2003 & 2007)

Sheeryn Asghari (2001 & 2005)

Meghan McCoy (2005)

Colleen Cintron (2005)

Brooke Fries (2003 & 2005)

Kristin Hatleberg (2005)

Miho Morinoue (2005)

Jessica Jolly (2003)

Donnell Turner (2003)

Anuschka von Oppen (2003)

Georgia Teperikidou (2003)

Dania Antinori (2003)

Graceann Dorse (2003)

Shauna Hoskin (2003)

Rebekah J. Kennedy (2003)

Sarah Vancaster (2003)

Ivanna Wei (2003)

Katiushka Melo (2003)

Lucey Cummins (2003)

Elizabeth Stackhouse (2003)

Jenna Hunt (2003)

Ariel Polonsky (2003)

Sarah White (2001)

Breda Carroll (2001)

Liv Isaacs-Nollet (2001)

Mahdi Shah (2001)

Kevin Bachman (1999 & 2001)

Aydan Turker (1999 & 2001)

Kyle Abraham (1999)